Fair elections in Mostar ensured by signing of the election pledge

Fair elections in Mostar ensured by signing of the election pledge

SARAJEVO, November 18 (FENA) – Political parties, coalitions, and independent candidates participating in the 2020 local elections in the City of Mostar scheduled on 20 December 2020 signed an election pledge on 18 November 2020, promising to ensure a peaceful and fair electoral process.

The election pledge was developed by representatives of the Mostar City Election Commissions, civil society organizations and political subjects registered for 2020 local elections in Mostar, with the support of the OSCE Mission to Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH), the OSCE Mission in BiH announced.

OSCE stated that the political subjects agreed to ensure a peaceful and fair electoral process, which adheres to the basic principles of integrity and fairness and upholds several key democratic principles, such as respecting the legality of elections, avoiding exerting political pressure on voters, and refraining from using inflammatory rhetoric.

“I am happy to see that citizens of Mostar will finally have an opportunity to exercise their democratic right. Local elections are especially important because this level of authority is usually the one that has the most impact on BiH citizens’ daily lives,” said Ambassador Kathleen Kavalec, Head of the OSCE Mission.

She also said that the OSCE Mission to BiH remains ready to support all reform processes and initiatives aimed at enhancing democracy, but true progress depends on the willingness of politicians to compromise and reach consensus to the benefit of all citizens.

“It is up to the signatories to bring the promises in these pledges to life and to stand by the promises they make with them,” stated Kavalec.

Political subjects in 26 local communities across BiH have previously signed the election pledge.  This initiative is part of the wider efforts of the OSCE Mission, within its mandate, to support free, fair, and credible elections in the country.

The 26 communities where election pledges have been signed are: Bihać, Bijeljina, Bileća, Brčko, Foča, Gornji Vakuf-Uskoplje, Gradačac, Istočna Ilidža, Jajce, Kiseljak, Kostajnica, Livno, Novi Travnik, Odžak, Prijedor, Prozor, Sanski Most, Srebrenica, Srebrenik, Stolac, Teslić, Tomislavgrad, Trebinje, Visoko, Višegrad and Zenica, announced the OSCE.